Rattray brothers to fly local flag


    JUST days after it was announced Dani and Wayne Hill will create history in Tasmania next month, another pair of relatives are poised to follow suit.

    By being selected as South Australia’s representatives in the Australian Drivers’ Championship, the Hills were to become the first siblings to contest the series in the same year.

    Wayne is returning as the defending champion.

    They will remain the first brother and sister combination, but have been joined on the sibling scale by Todd and Gareth Rattray.

    The Rattrays have been chosen to fly the flag for the host state.

    While Todd is a debutante, it will be Gareth’s third ADC appearance.

    Gareth finished third in the 2014 edition at Globe Derby before a midfield result in the 2015 Launceston series.

    Tasracing chief executive Vaughn Lynch admitted he hopes the home track advantage will provide the Rattrays an edge in their pursuit of the title.

    “The Rattray brothers were the standout harness driving performers last season,” Lynch said. “Todd won his first Tasmanian drivers’ award in 2016/17 when just a win ahead of Gareth.

    “After doing so well locally, being able to compete against the best drivers from interstate will be an important challenge for the pair.”

    Scheduled to be conducted in Hobart on October 28, the Championship will pit a dozen of the nation’s top drivers against each other for the title of Australia’s best.


    The 12 drivers selected to represent their respective states are:

    • Chris Lewis, WA
    • Ryan Warwick, WA
    • Chris Alford, Victoria
    • Greg Sugars, Victoria
    • Danielle Hill, SA
    • Wayne Hill, SA
    • Todd Rattray, Tasmania
    • Gareth Rattray, Tasmania
    • Amanda Turnbull, NSW
    • Chris Geary, NSW
    • Shane Graham, Queensland
    • Grant Dixon, Queensland


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here