Motu joins ‘greybeard’ fraternity

    MOTU SPEEDY SPUR - Photo Tayler Strong

    GREYBEARD Motu Speedy Star became the oldest pacer to win in New Zealand for five years when he was successful at Oamaru on Sunday.

    Motu Speedy Star, owned and trained at Oamaru by Eion Latimer, was driven by 19-year-old Sheree Tomlinson in the race for junior drivers.

    It was start 209 for Motu Speedy Star, with the son of Village Jasper registering his 13th win. He began racing as a three-year-old in 2007.

    The previous 13-year-old pacer to win was Greg Brydon in 2012, according the a list compiled by Victor Rolton, of Harness Racing New Zealand.

    Three 13-year-old pacers and a 14-year-old are on the list, which dates back to the 1955-56 season.

    Single Direct won a pacing free-for-all at an Auckland Trotting Club meeting in 1955 at the age of 13 when trained and driven by Ray Kennerley.

    Blue Signal was 14 when he won a race for pacers in saddle at Cromwell in March, 1958 when trained by Mick Prendergast and ridden by his brother Maurice.

    The brothers shared ownership of the roan Sandydale gelding, which was at odds of 71 to one.

    Twenty two trotters have won races when 13 or older in the past 62 seasons, with Jovial Scot heading the list.

    He won his only start as a 15-year-old when triumphant at Alexandra Park in November, 1965.

    • HRNZ Media

    The list of winners 13 yrs and older:

    Horse Name                       Season Age

    Jovial Scot                          1966       15

    Perigo                                2012       14

    Moment Of Truth                2017       14

    Mighty Hanover                  1969       14

    Indian Gold                        1960       14

    Murray Grattan                   1959       14

    Blue Signal                         1958       14

    Danny Gee                         1993       13

    Cracker Pete                       1988       13

    Idle Scott                           1997       13

    Raymauwarrhen Sun           2010       13

    Greg Brydon                       2012       13

    Bob Crane                          1979       13

    Easton Light                       1978       13

    Foxtrot Jack                       2015       13

    Netherby                           1974       13

    John Robin                        1972       13

    Prince William                    1962       13

    Motu Speedy Star              2018       13

    Beechdale Queen               1958       13

    Fencourt                           1958       13

    Loyal Eagle                       1958       13

    Slipstream                        1957       13

    Rangi’s Pride                     1957       13

    Single Direct                     1956       13

    Larry ‘O                            1956       13


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here