Drivers announced for Wayville extravaganza


    FOLLOWING the fantastic news that racing will return to Wayville, Harness Racing South Australia has released the list of drivers who will take part in the historic event.

    Just to recap, last June the governing body announced it is taking a step back in time by conducting an official race meeting at the state’s former home.

    With TAB support, the meeting will be a one-off event to create interest and nostalgia.

    HRSA have scheduled the extravaganza for Friday, October 27, with a huge crowd expected to make their way through the gates.

    Such was the buzz surrounding the concept, HRSA achieved a massive boost for the industry by gaining much-needed mainstream publicity – including being the lead to the nightly news sports broadcast, radio coverage and the Adelaide Advertiser.

    As the countdown continues and the excitement grows, HRSA has revealed a dozen star drivers will compete around the saucer-like circuit.

    The list includes a host of SA premiership winners such as John and Lance Justice, Geoff Webster, Dani Hill and Ryan Hryhorec.

    That group will be pushed to the limit by the likes of Australian Driving champion Wayne Hill, Group One winners Kate Gath and Greg Sugars and top locals, Scott Ewen, Josh Holberton, Anthony Robinson and Ken Rogers.

    “My father Dudley trained a lot of winners at Wayville, including Findon Loo, which won at one of the last meetings there,” John said.

    “Findon Loo was driven by my brother Lenny, who sadly died in an accident a few years ago.

    “I remember being at Wayville as a kid, but Geoff would recall it better than the rest of us as he is by far the oldest.”



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here