Rooney to chase slice of history


    TOP Victorian gelding Arden Rooney will be given the opportunity to grab a slice of history next season.

    The Kerryn Manning-trained star is among 10 Australians nominated for the New Zealand Cup, which is scheduled to be run at Addington on November 10.

    Success in the time honoured feature will see Arden Rooney become just the third pacer to capture the Southern Hemisphere’s two major handicaps.

    Last February Arden Rooney completed half the equation when he annexed the prestigious A G Hunter Cup at Tabcorp Park Melton.

    Former grand mare Blossom Lady was the ground breaker, winning the NZ Cup in 1992 and the Hunter Cup in 1994 and ’95. Yulestar followed suit in 2000.

    New Zealand performers Christen Me, winner of the 2014 Hunter Cup, and Choise Achiever, the 2012 Hunter Cup champion, are also among the nominations.

    Joining Arden Rooney among the nominations are fellow Aussies Alleluia, Chancellor Cullen, Im Corzin Terror, Easy On The Eye, Forever Gold, Franco Ledger, Jivin Cullen, Mach Beauty and Messini.

    Only three Australians have managed to win the NZ Cup – Steel Jaw in 1983, My Lightning Blue in 1987 and Flashing Red in 2006 and ’07.


    NZ Trotting Cup nominations: Saveapatrol, Messini, Mighty Flaying Mac, Major Bubbles, Bit Of A Legend, Christen Me, Franco Nelson, Venus Serena, Tiger Tara, Mossdale Conner, Delightful Dash, Te Kawau, Arden Rooney, Dalton Bromac, Ohoka Punter, Smolda, Quick As A Trick, Alleluia, Bettor Dream, Lancewood Lizzie, Sky Major, Belkmyster, Forever Gold, Mach’s Gladiator, Mach Beauty, Jivin Cullen,  Easy On The Eye, Lewy Risk, Brilliant Strike, No Doctor Needed, Jason Rulz, Ideal Success, Choise Achiever, Im Corzin Terror, Chancellor Cullen, Provocative Prince, Franco Ledger, Major Star, Zakspatrol, Ballindooley.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here